Close Alerts

About SRD

The SRD is a federation of 5 municipalities & 4 electoral areas.


The Strathcona Regional District (SRD) is a federation of five municipalities and four electoral areas, governed by a 13-member Board of elected officials. The SRD was established on February 15, 2008, as a result of the provincial government’s restructure of the Comox Strathcona Regional District.

The five municipalities within the regional federation include:

The four electoral areas within the regional federation include:


The SRD’s administrative boundaries include approximately 22,000 square kilometers (8,517 square miles).

The borders extend from the Oyster River in the south to Gold River, Sayward, Tahsis, Zeballos and Kyuquot-Nootka in the north and west, and east to Cortes Island, Quadra Island and the Discovery Islands as well as a portion of the adjacent mainland north of Powell River.

The administrative boundaries lie within many traditional First Nations territories and the SRD works closely with 10 local First Nations communities.


The SRD provides approximately 44,000 residents with a diverse range of services, including water & sewage systems, fire protection, land use planning, parks, bylaw enforcement, recreation, broadband, emergency planning and response.

Electoral Areas

The geography of the Strathcona Regional District ranges from forested hills, remote inlets, picturesque villages to vibrant urban landscapes and borders Campbell River to Cortes Island.


Reach out to one of our departments and find out who best to contact with your query within the SRD. We look forward to hearing from you.

Agendas & Minutes

Missed a meeting or want to see what is coming up in the next Board or Committee meetings? Search minutes from past meetings as well as review agendas for upcoming meetings.

Employment Opportunities

Find out more about available employment opportunities within the Strathcona Regional District. We post jobs here regularly so be sure to check back for updates.

Strategic Priorities

In 2020 – 2024, The Strathcona Regional District will focus on building better connections; in our communities, with our environment, through service delivery and in our internal and external relationships with the following strategic priorities: Community Well-Being Improve broadband and cellular infrastructure as well as digital initiatives that enable our communities to access the benefits… 

Bid Opportunities

Invitations to tender, bids and requests for proposals are all posted regularly so be sure to check back for updates and opportunities.

Legislative Resources

Listed below are Legislative Resources for the Strathcona Regional District: Delegation to Regional Board – Guidelines Delegation to Regional Board – Request External Agency Appointments  Freedom of Information and Protection of Privacy – Access to Records Request   Still can’t find what you’re looking for?  Please use the “search” button on the top right hand corner or… 

Voting Structure

Find out how the voting structure of the Strathcona Regional District is determined and how voting is divided among Board members.

Board of Directors

The governing body for the Regional District is its Board of Directors, comprising of 13 elected officials representing the municipalities and unincorporated electoral areas within its jurisdictional boundaries.

Mission, Vision & Values

The Strathcona Regional District is focused on providing the community with a healthy environment and social well-being for vibrant quality of life through responsible economic development and effective delivery of services.